I have recently upgraded my local Ubuntu NAS server from 16.04 to 18.04 and noticed that my Canon MB5450 multi-function printer/scanner could no longer save scanned files to network shares (in this case my Ubuntu server). The reason for this being that SMBv1 is no longer enabled as per default in Ubuntu 18.04. The below instructions show how to re-enable SMB1 again by changing the smb.conf file.
Background information for Canon Maxify MB5450 printer users:
The printer states a strange “Printer not responding. Check power supply connection” error message in the “set destination folder for scanner” dialog box of the Canon Quick Utility Toolbox. In general for these printers, destination folders for the scanner need to be set by the tool . They cannot be configured directly at the printer itself or through a web server interface (like for other brands).
The error keeps popping up even though the printer is detected by the Canon Quick Utility Toolbox and is responding normal to print jobs etc.
After some research the reason was found to be that the printer only supports SMB1 (samba version 1) file sharing. This version of the protocol has been disabled in Ubuntu 18.04 (as well as in Windows 10). Due to this, the printer/scanner can no longer access the shares and produces this error messages (which is not very conclusive to be honest).
This can be worked around by re-enabling SMB1 in Ubuntu 18.04 again.
I guess this problem does not only apply to the Canon MB5400 series of printers but to other Canon printers as well, but this I cannot verify as I only have the MB5450 at home.
Enable SMB1 support in Ubuntu 18.04
- Open /etc/samba/smb.conf file on your Ubuntu server
- Add the following statement in the global settings section of the file:
- Restart the SAMBA server
ntlm auth = ntlmv1-permitted
...1sudo service smbd restart
This should allow clients to connect to the server using SMB1 (called NT1 in samba) again, which solves the problem for the time being.
Please note that SMB1 protocol is quite old and was disabled for security reasons in Ubuntu 18.04. This means in case this is not absolutely necessary, it should be kept disabled.